Tiwal 3 review – Carolina from Nashville, TN

April 2023 – Carolina from Nashville, TN

My name is Carolina. I live in the US in Nashville, Tennessee.

Which Tiwal model do you have?

The Tiwal 3 boat. We’ve had it for about two years now.

Where do you sail?

I sail mostly in lakes and with the Tiwal I’ve sailed it in a few lakes around Nashville.

Single-handed or double-handed?

Mostly solo but I also use it, I work at a summer camp there in Nashville and I’ve been using it with kids to show them different types of boats so it’s usually me and then two other students and they love it.

What was your experience before Tiwal?

Yes I’ve been sailing since I was 10 and I’ve been working as a sailing instructor since I was 16. when I was very little I was on my dad’s Catalina 30 but then when I started sailing I was on Lasers, Hunter 14s, Catalina 14s, Optis and Sunfish.

How is it going so far?

It’s a lot lighter so it’s a lot more sensitive. I would compare it to like an Open Bic I think.

It’s more direct in its way of sailing, it’s a very easy boat to sail for beginners, but it’s also fun for experienced Sailors as well.

Which characteristics did surprise you?

I guess, I really, I wasn’t sure what I was expecting because I’ve never sailed an inflatable boat and so it was impressive to see how well it sailed and how sturdy the boat was once you set it all up.

What is your best memory with the Tiwal?

Probably using it at camp in Nashville with the kids and just their faces when they see it and it’s brand new to them and it’s a lot bigger than the other boats that we have at the marina so it’s exciting for them. I have a lot of parents asking about it and all of the kids are like “Mom I want one too” because it’s, it seems more, it’s more accessible to them since it’s, it can be packaged you know or like yeah packaged down so you don’t need to have it at a marina necessarily so a lot of the parents are really really into it.

Where would you dream to sail your Tiwal?

I almost brought it to Italy because right now I’m studying in Italy. I’m in Florence right now and I really wanted to bring it to Italy and sail it like on, like Cinque Terre or along the coast of Italy.